Country vs. City living


I was having a conversation with my significant other about said topic and I have come to the conclusion am spoiled and wish for the best of both worlds.

A country girl in Paris, moonlight on the Seine
Memories of Tennessee, Nashville in the rain
Its such a contradiction, a heart thats filled with pain
A country girl in Paris, dreamin Nashville in the rain

I desire the safety of the country yet the convinience and relative ease of city comforts (such as taxis, buses) stores….in the winter time it can really bite when you have to make a trip into town so it’s best to stock up on supplies unless you have a nice 4×4 to get you around.

With my country roots a part of me yearns to return to my past…(growing older wiser can do this to you)….I simply miss it.

One thing I cannot stand though about city living is the noise and oh yeah..smell and everyone seems to be so impersonal. Yesterday I went on a bike ride (read Harley) on the back of my S.O. and have to tell you it’s one of the best feelings of the world with the wind whipping around me, watching the sun go down and smelling the fresh cut grass of homes speeding pass.

If I had to choose which, I would settle on the country only because I enjoy (crave) nature’s beauty and I  desire safety— and am quite the private person (despite this blog)…and if I get a “hankering” for bright lights I can always hop into my car and check out the night life.

I hear her voice, in the morning hour she calls me
The radio reminds me of my home far away
And drivin’ down the road I get the feeling
That I should have been home yesterday, yesterday

Leave a comment