Another year older


As I am often wont to do, I reflect back on the past year when my birthday comes around. I think about my accomplishments….my failures and check to see if I “learned” anything from them.

I realized I am not the same person I was a year ago or even a few months. I like to think I would always have room to learn and grow…to still figure out “who” and “what” I am.

I am more than just a daughter, sister, mother, and wife. Am more than an employee…veteran. I am all these things and even more.

It’s been a difficult year in some aspects, culminating a few weeks ago when I received a health scare. I realize that I need to worry less and enjoy life more. At times I’ve felt quite overwhelmed, hormonal, waiting for change….something to pick me up and move me forward.

However, only I can do that.

I think quite a few of us, come up with good-intentions–resolute to create an even better year as our birthdays roll around.

Whatever our goals, we must never discount the many times we’ve succeeded (no matter if deemed quite small)….each action, each instance builds itself up into who and what we are today.

“Think of your life as an hourglass. You know there are thousands of grains of sand in the top of the hourglass; and they all pass slowly and evenly through the narrow neck in the middle. Nothing you or I could do would make more than one grain of sand pass through this narrow neck without impairing the hourglass. You and I and everyone else are like this hourglass…if we do not take [tasks] one at a time and let them pass…slowly and evenly, then we are bound to break our own…structure.”
― Dale Carnegie, How to Stop Worrying and Start Living

One thought on “Another year older

Leave a Reply

