The Religion of Kindness


An avid reader of blogs I came across one from Ghada and wanted to share my viewpoints regarding a brief excerpt with Susie of Arabia regarding beliefs and presented it for discussion on English Sabla:

Sometimes I struggle with religion…sometimes I feel “men” which I mean here as humankind has put far too much of their own cultural biases/prejudices into their Holy Books and teachings where the religion simply isn’t recognized anymore and I see this being across the board and not just with one religion.

As Susie of Arabia stated in Ghada’s World:

Quote:
I think that religions have good intentions, but that somewhere along the way, many men in religious power have lost sight of their real purpose and have complicated things and overstepped their bounds.

So, what about a religion of kindness?

I have heard of individuals who practice something called Diesm:

Deists typically reject most supernatural events (prophecy, miracles) and tend to assert that God (or “The Supreme Architect”) has a plan for the universe that is not altered either by God intervening in the affairs of human life or by suspending the natural laws of the universe. What organized religions see as divine revelation and holy books, most deists see as interpretations made by other humans, rather than as authoritative sources.

source

Do any of you feel that “man” has perverted religion somehow to fit the views of mankind and not the views of God?

Has religion become more about self-promotion instead of self-proclamation to a supreme being?

__________________

Leave a comment