The bigger picture


“If we are not allowed to deal with small problems, we will be destroyed by slightly larger ones. When we come to understand this, we live our lives not avoiding problems, but welcoming them them as challenges that will strengthen us so that we can be victorious in the future.”
Jim Stovall, The Ultimate Gift

I think a lot of marital difficulties comes from immaturity and a lack of self-confidence–also a big part of our relationship issues is not being able to see the picture.

 

As Americans, most of us want everything N.O.W.  If we have to wait even 5 minutes for something it’s a chore. (No one can tell me different.)

Can you just imagine how this relates to relationships?

When things are difficult, or are heading that way, whether it be your finances, employment status, or even waiting for personal issues to resolve themselves….negativity sets in.  We become overwhelmed and fail to see the journey in it’s entirety and instead focus only on the problems (and not in a good way).

Nothing in this life is easy. Falling in love, having children, maintaining your health and family/friend relationships to taking care of your spousal needs….there will always be issues along the way.

When we fail to see the bigger picture, such as spending your life with someone you love, becoming a parent, having a great quality of life….we become lost in the details instead of realizing the blessings which will come our way.

I am at fault for not realizing the positive outcomes which come about from such things.

I also realize life isn’t easy and it certainly hasn’t been for me. But I do have one thing on my side and that is I am tenacious. I will not give up. I will fight tooth and nail for what I believe in. And, yes of course, common sense will undoubtedly kick in…and if something isn’t meant to be I let go.

“When things get too complicated, it sometimes makes sense to stop and wonder: Have I asked the right question?”
Enrico Bombieri

For someone like myself, I always try to give 110%.

Yes, there are times I want to give up. I think, why do I fight this hard for something so difficult?

Then I come to the realization: despite all the hardships…..in the end it’s all worth it.

I for one don’t wish to journey through life alone. Having a partner to ease some of the troubles that will inevitably come our way, is a great motivator. One, that I am willing to fight for, work hard for, and to make him and everyone else realize that I am a woman of means, of intellect and strength who is able to carry her own weight, who is able to see the bigger picture and push forward through hardships and crisis. Love isn’t easy. It’s trial by error and it’s accepting the fact that yes, sometimes we can’t fix things. As long as I believe in myself, in my marriage ultimately knowing I can conquer anything that comes my way.

Leave a Reply

