Dominance


Not sure what is up with the male species, or at least in this case, my cat Simba. He is a neutered 10 year old Himalayan and has taken to “marking” the foyer by the front door.  The mailman used to slip my mail through the door slot. However, once I had Wendy, who would incessantly barked every time the mailman did this, I bought an outdoor mailbox to help curb the problem. It broke her barking however Simba took to pissing on the mail and he pretty much did this once I bought Wendy, and she would alert the household that the mail “was here.”

Now that’s she’s passed, and it’s been almost 5 months (and no I still cannot bear to look at her pictures or videos), Simba is still marking.

I am taking him to the vet today and pray a solution can be found. I DON’T want to give him up.  I’ve had this little guy since he was 2 months old.  All he knows is my family and Luna, our American long hair cat.  She is 13.  I think it’s cruel to transfer a pet to another household after they have adapted to a single one pretty much their entire life.  I don’t care what others say.  Animals WILL fall into a depression when separated from their families. There is documented evidence of dogs and cats trying to return to their former families because they cannot adjust to a new household.

196410_1005225771369_9378_n

So, I’ll do whatever it takes to cease this behavior.  There are already 2 litter boxes, one for each cat. My house is not a loud boisterous one. I will also buy him some toys to play with and maybe the vet can give me some anti-anxiety pills to curb his stress.

When my husband was in Afghanistan that little cat was my constant companion, slept with me almost the entire time he was gone. He follows me everywhere pretty much like a dog.  I would sorely miss the furball if my hand is forced to give him up. If I do of course it would be with a Himalayan rescue group but I pray it doesn’t come to that. In the meantime, I am pinning all my hopes on this vet who might have a saving answer:

189176_1005225931373_1894_n

 

 

Here is some useful info regarding marking behavior from the Humane Society:

More tips

  • Clean soiled areas thoroughly with a cleaner specifically designed to eliminate urine odor. Read more about removing pet odors and stains »
  • Make previously soiled areas inaccessible or unattractive.If this isn’t possible, try to change the significance of those areas to your pet. Feed, treat, and play with your pet in the areas where he marks.
  • Keep objects likely to cause marking out of reach.Items such as guests’ belongings and new purchases should be placed in a closet or cabinet.
  • Resolve conflicts between animals in your home. If you’ve added a new cat or new dogto your family, follow our tip sheets to help them live in harmony.
  • Restrict your dog’s access to doors and windowsso he can’t observe animals outside. If this isn’t possible, discourage the presence of other animals near your house.
  • Make friends.If your pet is marking in response to a new resident in your home (such as a roommate or spouse), have the new resident make friends with your pet by feeding, grooming, and playing with your pet. If you have a new baby, make sure good things happen to your pet when the baby is around.
  • Watch your dog when he is indoorsfor signs that he is thinking about urinating. When he begins to urinate, interrupt him with a loud noise and take him outside. If he urinates outside, praise him and give him a treat.
  • When you’re unable to watch him, confine your dog (a crateor small room where he has never marked) or tether him to you with a leash.
  • Have your dog obey at least one command(such as “sit”) before you give him dinner, put on his leash to go for a walk, or throw him a toy.
  • If your dog is marking out of anxiety, talk to your vet about medicating him with a short course of anti-anxiety medication.  This will calm him down and make behavior modification more effective.
  • Consult an animal behaviorist for help with resolving the marking issues.

What not to do

Don’t punish your pet after the fact. Punishment administered even a minute after the event is ineffective because your pet won’t understand why he is being punished.

If you come home and find that your dog has urinated on all kinds of things, just clean up the mess. Don’t take him over to the spots and yell and rub his nose in them. He won’t associate the punishment with something he may have done hours ago, leading to confusion and possibly fear.

SOURCE

Leave a Reply

