My own worst enemy


“Patience is a form of wisdom. It demonstrates that we understand and accept the fact that sometimes things must unfold in their own time.”
Jon Kabat-Zinn, Full Catastrophe Living: Using the Wisdom of Your Body and Mind to Face Stress, Pain, and Illness

 

Patience has never been one of my top 5 virtues.  Well, maybe it depends on what I am waiting for.

There are certain life events, when I look back, I have found the strength and fortitude to “wait things out,” while other events, as they were unfolding, I was quite impatient to sit by and let things happen.

 

Patience_quote

For as long as I can remember, I had tunnel vision. I knew what I wanted and I would go after it with 110% of my being and if I didn’t succeed I would go over every minute detail to try and figure out what I did wrong. And sometimes things didn’t play out they way I wanted to because the situation was not in my control.

 

I always expected my life to play out a certain way.

With that being said, I realize with the wisdom of age, and a lot of trial and error, I wasted far too much energy on my failures which I attribute my impatience to, and not enough on my successes.  Perhaps it’s simply human nature but it seems that for most of us, if not all, are constantly comparing how we currently feel to how we felt during another time and we must learn to let go a little.

 

Leave a Reply

