When the status quo doesn’t cut it


“When we least expect it, life sets us a challenge to test our courage and willingness to change; at such a moment, there is no point in pretending that nothing has happened or in saying that we are not yet ready. The challenge will not wait. Life does not look back. A week is more than enough time for us to decide whether or not to accept our destiny.”
Paulo Coelho, The Devil and Miss Prym

 

Sometimes I become rather frustrated, or perhaps fed up is a far better word, with the day-to-day grind of my life and job.

 

I never thought myself much as an adventurer. Then I look back at my life and realize, well…maybe I was.

 

My heart is a restless vagabond, yearning for something more exciting, stable but different. Mid-life crisis? Maybe…I’ve been this way my entire life.

 

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”
– Mark Twain

 

A loner, a wanton observer of life, I become wrapped up with my inner world and at times with those individuals and events who happen to cross my path.

 

Very difficult to give my heart to just anyone…and traveling helps clear the mind.  Trust has always been an issue.  I don’t give it out freely and once broken it is near impossible to gain back. Sometimes when this bond is broken, I wonder if it’s even worth trying to fix. Because if it breaks again, at least for me….I don’t go back to pick up the pieces. (Laughter) though easier said than done, sometimes we are all faced with immeasurable challenges which seem to come out of no where and punch us in the gut.

There are times I want to pack up my bags and head to parts unknown where no one knows me and I can be swept up in blissful anonymity.

“I believe in following your wanderlust to your bliss and living life to the fullest; every aspect of my life seems to flow from that basic ambition. My yen for travel is a metaphor for my quest for knowledge. I sing in the key of freedom, and that has definite implications for my love life. I want to see too much of the planet and its peoples to be anything but a nomad.” (Bohemian Vagabond)

Leave a Reply

