Repose country-style


“If I could have made the change sooner I daresay I should never have given a thought to the literary delights of Paris or London; for life in the country is the only state which has always completely satisfied me, and I had never been allowed to gratify it, even for a few weeks at a time. Now I was to know the joys of six or seven months a year among fields and woods of my own, and the childish ecstasy of that first spring outing at Mamaroneck swept away all restlessness in the deep joy of communion with the earth.”
― Edith Wharton

index

There’s a certain sense of equanimity when taking the time relax in the country.  Time…life itself slows down…people seem friendlier.

Pace of life is quite manageable.

Growing up in rural Southern Indiana had its moments.  I was fortunate enough to have the woods, endless roads, and a lake at my disposal.  Crime was never an issue.  We could leave our doors unlocked if we so wished.

Living in St. Louis has it’s ups and downs.  Crime rate leaves something to be desired and I was never one for crowds.  Convenience of city-living is why I remain but when it comes time to retire I plan on being swallowed up by God’s grand Creation. Only then will I know I’ve come home again……….

Nor rural sights alone, but rural sounds,
Exhilarate the spirit, and restore
The tone of languid nature.
~William Cowper

 

 

Leave a Reply

