Tranquility in one


“There is a pleasure in the pathless woods,There is a rapture on the lonely shore,There is society, where none intrudes,By the deep sea, and music in its roar:I love not man the less, but Nature more” ― George Gordon Byron

There’s something about being in the country that has always appealed to me.  I am alone with my thoughts, my pain, my internal/external inspirations.

There are times when I need that solitude (I crave it), When am alone with God’s natural grace, I can sit back and listen to the birds, crickets, the rustling of the leaves, the wind in the trees…..

As a kid I’d excitedly pack a light lunch and hop on the bike.  There many winding roads near my childhood home.  Looking back I realize how lucky I was to have this safe escape. As my bike ate up the miles I felt myself being taken away into a different world….to a place where I answered to absolutely no one and was quite fine with that.  🙂

Though some individuals may think the company of one is something they would never be comfortable with, for me it’s everything.  I was a teen quite happy in my books, my thoughts…with my writing. I could spend hours alone and not think anything of it.  That time gave ME time to reflect….to forget about the things which were either causing me pain or simply needed to recharge.

I look forward to my times at the lake. I love that life is slower there.

Sure, I miss the city, but I know I can always return whenever I want.

My husband and I are alike in many ways and our love of nature is one of various things which bonds us together.  I enjoy going out on the boat, lounging in the sun, letting the hours creep by.  I enjoy the woodsy smell, of burning fires…the way the sun spills through the trees……simple things.  I think when we are so busy with our every day lives we forget how to slow down. The country forces you to and I am all for embracing what She has to teach me.

Leave a Reply

