Dare to dream


“A bird doesn’t sing because it has an answer, it sings because it has a song.”
Maya Angelou

You must have a passion to write.  Who wants to toil away bleeding their soul upon the very pages a potential reader will one day read….

My love for the written word, ah my imagination, aches for release!!  I cannot explain this desire any other way. I guess one may equate this exquisite obsession to an athlete’s quest for bodily perfection and the perfect timing.

As a budding teen I dutifully plugged away on  my father’s old Remington typewriter (the one with the dual ribbon–red and black)…don’t ask me about the red…and when that antiquated device failed…also wrote longhand–pages and pages of teenage angst, and unrequited love. As Stephen King would say:  ” The most important things are the hardest to say.” But…they must be said!

Flash forward a few years…With the advent of Word and then the laptop, I was in writer’s heaven.

Now my poor laptop is struggling.  The “O” key cover is missing, my backward slash does not work, nor my question mark. To say am hard on modern technology is an understatement.  I need one of those Army field laptops which can take a beating.

A writer writes and this one has so much to tell!

“We write to taste life twice, in the moment and in retrospect.”
Anaïs Nin

 

Leave a Reply

