Separation


My fiance left for deployment and I think about the year ahead of what it will mean for the two of us.  Of course he will be taking liberty to see me and I think that will help me get through this year long separation.

I wonder how other couples do it? There’s the fear of endangerment, being sent to a hostile place…the fear of the unknown…also relying on the other to remain true to the other, not allowing temptation to creep in.

All of us who have to go through this sometimes feel anger, resentment, fear…a multitude of negative feelings and that’s why it’s important to always keep the bigger picture in mind, to not let these thoughts overwhelm you to the point your relationship is jeopardized by fear.

The best thing is to simply support your partner because they’ll be facing some serious hardships.  I am lucky in that I have a close family, a good job, and friends to keep me going. Those of you who don’t, seriously consider support groups, seek out a hobby, if you’re not working volunteer or try finding a job to occupy your time.

Love isn’t easy. And sometimes it gets tested as in such situations.  I can only pray for his safety, be there for him, and know that soon he and I will be back in each other’s arms.

Leave a Reply

