What is YOUR calling?


Some people live their entire lives not knowing why they are here.  When I talk about having a calling..it’s something, an ideal, virtue, passion that pulls you in like nothing else you’ve ever experienced.

Naturally my calling was the U.S. Army. There was no doubt in my mind what I was meant to do with my life.  I had no qualms about enlisting and knew I would become a “lifer.”

Serving my country means the world to me. I always gave 200% of myself to the military and when I was out for a few years I actually felt a piece of me was gone, amputated really.

There’s this precious thing called camaraderie which kept drawing me in….knowing I was serving the greater good.  Being called to duty is no light matter because wearing that uniform is no light task. It’s been a difficult journey for so many reasons but a journey worth experiencing.

God of our fathers, who by land and sea have ever lead us to victory, please continue your inspiring guidance in this the greatest of all conflicts. Strengthen my soul so that the weakening instinct of self-preservation, which besets all of us in battle, shall not blind me to my duty to my own manhood, to the glory of my calling, and to my responsibility to my fellow soldiers. Grant to our armed forces that disciplined valor and mutual confidence which insures success in war. Let me not mourn for the men who have died fighting, but rather let me be glad that such heroes have lived. If it be my lot to die, let me do so with courage and honor in a manner which will bring the greatest harm to the enemy, and please, oh Lord, protect and guide those I shall leave behind. Give us the victory, Lord.

 

 General George S Patton quotes 

What is your calling?

Your passion?

Leave a Reply

