Loyalty of service


I attended a retirement ceremony for an Illinois State Trooper employee. She served over 42 years. WHERE can you see such commitment these days?

It seems we all (for I am guilty also) have jumped from various jobs either to gain experience, move upward, or left because we maxed out our potential.  So we seek to find greener pastures.

With our uncertain economy I know there are plenty of people who would simply be satisfied with being gainfully employed.  I for one would love to see my daughter safely secured in a federal position because we all know how safe those jobs tend to be.

During my parents’ era loyalty of service was taken for granted. Individuals would remain with the same company pretty much their entire career.  These days it could be a death sentence with various employment venues either downsizing or going out of business. That’s why it’s smart to take a look at market trends and see where certain jobs are actually headed.

I consider myself lucky to have been able to find federal employment. I have over 14 years of Federal service and more than 20 years of military.  Thinking ahead for your retirement is a must. It isn’t a luxury.  Begin early socking away and invest what you are capable of towards your 401k if your company is fortunate enough to offer such a plan.


Retirement has been a discovery of beauty for me.  I never had the time before to notice the beauty of my grandkids, my wife, the tree outside my very own front door.  And, the beauty of time itself.  ~Hartman Jule

Leave a Reply

