Living in a state of grace


Attended Catholic service today at drill.  Had a nice long talk with the Army Chaplin. He’s been deployed a few times and discussed how he hopes soldiers try to live in a state of grace when deployed especially considering the dangerous conditions some may find themselves in. He stated we all should try our best to live our lives with pure hearts and minds but at times I find this most difficult.

So what is living in a state of grace? When I think about it…I feel that it’s when you find true inner peace…that your beliefs systems are equal to what God has intended for us and we try our best to live each day with a sense of higher purpose.

“Don’t ask yourself what the world needs. Ask yourself what makes you come alive and then go do that. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive”. ~ Howard Thurman

I also think living in this state means letting go of earthly pleasures and love…to find that divine love which (at times) seems so difficult to grasp.

Perhaps true state of grace comes when we are baptized..when the Original Sin is forgiven but I have always had a problem with unbaptized babies being sent to Purgatory.

Some ask why I don’t take Communion and I simply state that my soul is not free from sin. I don’t live in a state of grace and I find it highly hypocritical of those individuals who attend Mass and in droves receive this holy sacrament all the while knowing that their soul is not in a true state of grace–free from mortal sin….and I realize at the same time that I am not their judge…only God…and so I rely upon myself not to demean the Eucharist by taking on something I have no right to at the present moment….

“You were born into a state of grace. It is impossible for you to leave it. You will die in a state of grace whether or not special words are spoken for you, or water or oil is poured upon your head. You share this blessing with the animals and all other living things. You cannot fall out of grace, nor can it be taken from you. You can ignore it. You can hold beliefs that blind you to its existence. You will still be graced but unable to perceive you own uniqueness and integrity, and blind also to other attributes with which you are automatically gifted.”
Jane Roberts, The Nature of Personal Reality: Specific, Practical Techniques for Solving Everyday Problems and Enriching the Life You Know

 

Leave a Reply

