Working for the weekend


“Hard work is a prison sentence only if it does not have meaning. Once it does, it becomes the kind of thing that makes you grab your wife around the waist and dance a jig. (150)” ― Malcolm Gladwell, Outliers: The Story of Success

A lot of Americans check in to their 9-5 job every day with trepidation.  I am not guiltless…there are times I want to simply throw my alarm clock across the room and dig myself deeper in to the warmth of my blankets and comfy pillow, especially on cold wintry days.

Then I think to myself:  “Why are you being so ungrateful?”

You have a steady paycheck, a federal job where it’s a relatively stable niche….you still do what you love (which is working with military history)…..and you have people who look up to you and enjoy working with you.

But still, there’s that secret part of me who doesn’t want to work. I want to retire at 43 and travel the globe to parts unknown checking out different cultures and finding ways to make my life more self-fulfilling. (Is National Geographic hiring any more writers?)  🙂

Seriously though, I consider my weekends as mini-vacations which I relax, get things done……I embrace my days off like a forlorn lover.

Seriously though, it’s good to have a solid work ethic and at the same time…if you find something about your job…something which can motivate you to get up each day and clock in…take it–wrap yourself up in it.  Sure we all want to retire early (and not at 69) as be the case…..if you wake up each day with a positive attitude then before you know it your work will seem not so much as a drudgery but as something quintessential to your being.

Leave a Reply

