Born not made?


The task of leadership is not to put greatness into people, but to elicit it, for the greatness is there already.
John Buchan

 
I once had a professor ask me if leaders were born and not made….I chewed on this for a bit and came to the conclusion that leaders come from both and definitely their skills are derived from life circumstance. It’s our environment which will elicit a reaction to lead or to simply follow.
 
I never considered myself a natural-born leader…not this shy wallflower.  The Army gave me the necessary skills and confidence to lead…knowing I was living up to years of tradition and serving my country inspired me to venture outside of my comfort zone.
 
My military leadership skills have served me well in my present format.  I enjoy interacting with my employees and knowing that my guidance serves us well…but a sign of a good leader is knowing when you need help and facilitating assistance in a way that does not cause your subordinates to lose faith.
 

I think leadership comes from integrity – that you do whatever you ask others to do. I think there are non-obvious ways to lead. Just by providing a good example as a parent, a friend, a neighbor makes it possible for other people to see better ways to do things. Leadership does not need to be a dramatic, fist in the air and trumpets blaring, activity.
Scott Berkun

The best quality, at least for me…is that a good leader carries himself with integrity. 

Why?

Because if you hold true to your actions, you lead by example people will trust you even in the most difficult of circumstances. If your words are shallow, if you lie to get ahead your people will not trust you and come to disrespect.
 
It is of no surprise that military leaders are asked to go beyond the call of duty when it comes to the mission, to their soldiers.  Being a good leader means holding on to the position with honor, respect and perseverance.  Being a good leader means handling a situation in a firm but fair manner; unequaled in promoting harmony and teamwork.
 
Is there any other way?
Leave a Reply

