Motivation to exercise


When I was a kid it was easy to exercise because play was well…play and I would be outside swimming, biking, or traversing through the woods…it kept me naturally in shape when I left for the Army.

And while serving exercise was mandatory–physical training or better known as PT.

When I was discharged from active duty my weight climbed while in the reserves. Exercise then became a personal choice because in the reserves you meet one weekend a month and it’s up to you to stay in shape.

Needless to say my weight climbed and was placed in the weight control program which meant I was flagged for promotion, schooling, and re-enlistment.

That motivated me to lose.

Then a few years ago I shed 50 pounds. My weight had climbed to 190 on this 5’7″ small frame.  It was noticeable and I felt horrible.

There’s no excuse to not stay in shape, to not care about your self-image. To stay healthy.  That alone should be motivation enough to go to the gym on a regular basis. I try to figure out WHY it’s hard to do this. After I work out I feel great. It’s getting there some times that’s the issue.

According to Ask.com:

What Is Motivation?

Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionarydefines motivation as “that which gives purpose and direction to behavior.” By that definition, we’re looking for something to drive us to exercise, something to get us moving. So where does that ‘something’ come from? For some people, like athletes, it may come from the desire to compete and to win. For others, it may come from a desire to be healthy or live longer for their kids. For most, losing weight is often the goal. But is that enough to motivate us? Judging from our obesity problems, that would be a no.

The problem with motivation is that many of us believe it’s something that will come to us if we wait long enough…that someday we’ll wake up and finally want to exercise. Rather than believe in that fantasy, maybe we’d all be better off by realizing that motivation is something we create, not something we wait for.

And that’s the key…WE have to create the motivation. It won’t “magically appear.” Like the article states, we can get excited about the “idea” to exercise but actually doing it?

We make up excuses…our days are busy, tired from work…don’t want to get up early to get a good workout in.  We make more excuses about going to the gym or taking a walk than anything else I believe. If not why are so many Americans overweight?

So, if I want to look good, feel good, and have a long productive life I need to continuously keep this in mind so I find myself making exercise a routine, an integral part of my life…..

2 thoughts on “Motivation to exercise

  1. Pingback: Motivational image #1 | Fit for a year

  2. Pingback: Exercise, some motivation required | Fit for a year

Leave a Reply

