Love & Sacrifice


We all want to fall in love. Why?
Because that experience makes us feel completely alive,
where every sense is heightened,
and every emotion is magnified.
Our everyday reality is shattered
and we are flying into the heavens.
It may only last a moment, an hour, or an afternoon,
but that doesn’t diminish its value,
because we are left with memories
that we treasure for the rest of our lives.

From the movie The Mirror Has Two Faces

When you love someone some times it means doing things or experiencing feelings that you may otherwise shy away from if you didn’t love this person. Could be a relative, could be a friend or partner.

Loving someone means that at times we have to think outside the box, to get away from our comfort zone in order to make the relationship work.

At times it isn’t easy. Trust me, I have been through hell and back as a single mother and loving the people I do….but in the end it’s worth it because what else do you have in this life to live for? Certainly not possessions.

My significant other is a cop. And with that comes many trials and tribulations, many nights alone but I knew this going in. Perhaps having been military most of my adult life I understand the sacrifices that must be made in certain types of professions.  Though at times my heart is heavy when we are together the feelings are quite indescribable.  He fills my days with joy and for me having him for bits and pieces makes all the difference. I appreciate him when we are together and because of the nature of the job and because of how I feel, will never take him for granted. Shift work becomes a new kind of normal.

My daughter is now relocated on campus for the next 3 years and am suffering from the empty nest syndrome.  As a single parent it was she and I against the world.  We struggled on welfare while I was in school working 2 jobs and then landed a full-time job with a relatively low salary base.  She knows the value of a dollar and of sacrifices which need to be made for the sake of family.

And in the end….love is what it’s all about…………

6 thoughts on “Love & Sacrifice

  1. I think having people you love close by you gives you a very safe feeling. If they love you as much as you do, it even makes it better.

    I think your daughter will be safe and will be able to take care of herself because you taught her the value of money and love. Even when things were hard, you gave her all the love you had and worked hard for a better future for her. I am sure she misses you as much as you miss her.

  2. She always worries about me because she and I had to make it on our own and it was difficult but it did bring us closer. Am glad that she is with friends and experiencing college life. At the same time as a mother it hurts the heart to get her to be more independent but in American culture it’s a must to teach your children independence. NOT to do it is a grave disservice to the child.

  3. I think most countries WANT to teach their children to be independent but most parents can’t bare to see their children hurt or in pain so they never allow them to do anything by themselves because we are still “kids” and “we don’t know what is best for us” so they take over and then we learn nothing.

    I actually told my family COUNTLESS times, if they want us to evolve and be able to take care of ourselves then they should let us do what WE want and not be forced to do what they “think is best” because in this way, we will just feel like our life is controlled and will never know how to do anything, even a simple think as making toast. (believe me, I heard some of my family member don’t know how to do that)

  4. It’s good to have independence, respect the parents but at the same time parents need to understand they are doing a disservice to their children by making them completely dependent on them. Unless the child is physically or mentally disabled I think all parents need to guide their children towards becoming successful adults and that means sacrificing on their part having total control over their children’s lives.

    • As a mother, I am sure it is hard for you to let your daughter go out in the world knowing she may get hurt, you can’t protect her as before but you are doing this because you can’t allow her to rely on you forever.

      That is what I wish my family understood before they forced their decisions on me and ignored all my pleas and arguments. I guess that taught them something they never knew and they won’t do what they did to me with my other brothers.

  5. Perhaps one day they will realize that you need your independence so that you can “make it” out in this world….because trust me it’s a difficult place to wade through. I was on my own at 17 for 4 years but came back home at 21 to attend college and left at 25. Sometimes our children have to make mistakes. We do the best we can, are there in the sidelines and when it’s time help. Parents never lose that title it just takes on a different connotation as our children get older.

Leave a Reply

