WHERE’S the thrill?


Let’s face it, sometimes we want more out of our lives than simply the 9-5 and looking forward to a weekend without demands.

Hell, I do.

There’s times I want to pack up and leave everything and everyone behind…forget the responsibilities, forget my ties, my roots and head off to parts unknown a vagabond of the world, arms open wide ready to accept any adventures coming my way.
 
That’s how it was at 17. I wanted to forget Indiana, forget my family, and find out who “I” was and was meant to be. You know…the possibilities of me….
And at 43 I still wonder at times what’s my potential?  God, this life of ours….how precious it is…and I see people squandering it all the time on drugs, promiscuity, dead end jobs, (you get the picture)
 
And I wonder where’s the thrill? Where is this zest for life?
 
Man oh man how I longed to travel, to pick my way through life trying to find meaning to it all.  I think about the years I have left and hope they are good ones.  I think about who I can share this with….you can become privy to my world.  Can he accept me as I am?  Will he love me despite my faults and journey down the road together come what may?
 
Have you ever become so complacent in your life you forget what living’s for?
 
Leave a Reply

