What is this life?


Disraeli said: “Life is too short to be little.” […] often we allow ourselves to be upset by small things we should despise and forget. … Here we are on this earth, with only a few more decades to live, and we lose many irreplaceable hours brooding over grievances that, in a year’s time, will be forgotten by us and by everybody. No, let us devote our life to worth-while actions and feelings, to great thoughts, real affections and enduring undertakings.

When I was a young adult I read Dale Carnegie’s How To Stop Worrying And Start Living  the book changed my life and I don’t say this lightly. I have seen how worry can eat at a person’s soul and robbed them of quality of life. QUALITY.

How can any person spend their days consistently worrying about issues which are simply out of their control? If you can change something then do it. Don’t fret about it…bitch about it…sit and do nothing. Go out there and make it better!

Sure there are times we hate our positions in life, even Mr. Carnegie did but it’s what you do with these feelings which attests to your own strength of character.  You have to want the change, be courageous.  Nothing can upset me more than seeing a person full of potential fretting over something that they can either 1.) Change or 2.) Let go.  And even then I realize I should simply let them go but yeah…it can be hard when it’s someone close to you.

Realize that our life is finite and in this time allotted to us we should do our very best to create a fulfilling and meaningful life:

Look to this day!
For it is life, the very life of life.
In its brief course
Lie all the verities and realities of your existence:
The bliss of growth
The glory of action
The splendour of achievement.
For yesterday is but a dream
And tomorrow is only a vision,
But today well lived makes yesterday a dream of happiness
And every tomorrow a vision of hope.
Look well, therefore, to this day!
Such is the salutation to the dawn.

Kalidasa

2 thoughts on “What is this life?

  1. Your welcome. I know I can be guilty of worrying and when I catch myself I think “Now what can I do to change this?” and if it’s something I simply cannot change I move on. Life is too short to sweat the small stuff as they say.

Leave a Reply

