Utilities and other rants related to homeownership


I haven’t paid a gas bill in I don’t know how many years.  Once I moved into my new home I gained not just electric but also gas.  Mind you, I can remember the day when gas was CHEAPER than electric.  Thankfully my heater is the only thing that runs off of gas.  I don’t use it for anything else but heating up my townhome.

I manage my utilities by conserving.  I taught my daughter this also.  My electric bill usually runs me less than $50.00 a month but my gas.  When I read my gas bill I was like damn!  Twice that amount.  I also have to contend with condo fees which rise every year. (Am like dammit!)

Sometimes I lament over the downfall of the almighty U.S. $.  I can remember what a dollar could buy when I was a kid.  To think I could do the same now is laughable.

All I gotta say is thank GOD for cost of living increases each year factored into my paycheck…..(now if the insurance companies could keep my premiums down…well maybe I won’t lament so much when other costs rise).

When I rented if something broke the landlord could simply take care of it.

Not now.

If something breaks now it comes out of my own pocket. That’s cool…that’s ok….but it makes me keep an awful eagle eye out for any possible future fixer uppers around here.  And being a single woman one reason I chose a townhome was that it means less maintenance for me. Sure I love a nice yard (but I can compensate by buying flowers in the spring to fill my patio).  I want my privacy but thankfully the neighbors are quiet.  One is elderly and the other is rarely home.

But damn man….why does the gas bill gotta be so high?         

Leave a Reply

